What is iGeo?

The Next iGeo

Previous iGeos &
past questions

Test Guidelines


National Competitions

What is geography?



     Sue Lomas

Website Sponsor:

Website contact:

The 2018 iGeo - Québec City, Canada

Québec City is one of North America’s oldest cities and was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1985. Québec City is also a modern metropolis of approximately 750,000 mainly French-speaking residents. It is an active economic pole with an international airport and a major tourist destination.

The 2018 iGeo (IGEO 2018 Québec) was held in Québec City from 31 July to 6 August, 2018, in association with the Regional Conference of the International Geographical Union. In relating to the overall IGU 2018 conference theme of “Appreciating Difference / Apprecier la difference” and highlighting the role of the natural landscape in the historical evolution of Quebec, the iGeo 2018 theme was: Appreciating landscape.


Multimedia Test
Multimedia Test Answers
Multimedia Test Support
Fieldwork Instructions
Fieldwork 1A Test
Fieldwork 1A Test Map A2 (Large)
Fieldwork 1B Test
Fieldwork 2 Test
Fieldwork 2 Test Map C1
Fieldwork 2 Test Map C2
Written Response Test Question
Written Response Test Resource Book
Written Response Mark Scheme

Participation: 43 teams, 165 students, 83 team leaders and 4 observers


Gold Medals
1. Alen Kospanov - Russia
2. Junxiang Heng - Singapore
3. Andrei Sandu - Romania
4. Jakub Pypkowski - Poland
5. Wojciech Piątek - Poland
6. Ken von Bünau - Germany
7. Kyle Yu - United States of America
8. Haoran Zhang - China-Beijing
9. Manuel Fosalau - Romania
10. Zhaoxu Sui - China-Beijing
11. Domantas Kuryla - Lithuania
12. Hanlin Zhang - China-Beijing
13. En-Jui Chang - China-Taipei / Taiwan
14. Benjamin Benjadol - United States of America
15. Bianca Solomon - Romania
16. Kinga Kaszap - Hungary

Team Ranking (By Score)
1. Romania
2. Singapore
3. United States of America
4. China-Beijing
5. Lithuania
6. Russia
7. Poland
8. Latvia
9. Indonesia
10. Germany

Team Ranking (By Medals)
1. Romania
2. China-Beijing
3. United States of America
4. Poland
5. Lithuania
6. Singapore
7. Russia
8. Germany
8. China-Taipei / Taiwan
8. Hungary

Full Results List

Poster Winners
1. Russia
2. Canada
3. China-Macau, China-Taipei, Lithuania, Singapore

iGeo 2018 Local Organising Committee:

  • Co-Chair Matthew Hatvany, Ph.D., Professor of Geography at Université Laval
  • Co-Chair Lynn Moorman, Ph.D., Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Mount Royal University
  • Co-Chair Beth Dye, M.Ed., Vice-Principal at Twin Rivers Education Centre
  • Student Local Organizer Maxwell Bouchard, Graduate student at Université Laval
  • Student Local Organizer Julie Nadeau, Graduate student at Université Laval
  • Volunteer Coordinator Étienne Berthold, Ph.D.,Professor of Geography at Université Laval
  • Planning Support Ellen Curtis, Royal Canadian Geographical Society
  • Planning Support Chantal Déry, Ph. D., Professor at Université du Québec en Outaouais
  • Student Volunteer Coordinator Arielle Frenette, Graduate student at Université Laval
  • Planning Support Dan Shrubsole, Ph. D., Canadian Association of Geography
  • Volunteer Leaders: Marc-Elie Adaïmé, Maxime Lamoureux, Mathieu St-Pierre, Samuel Veilleux (all graduate students at Université Laval)
  • A special thanks to our priceless volunteers: Lori Barrett, Annye Boutiller, Catherine Brochu-Gosselin, Donald Cayer, Julie Francoeur, Hubert Larose-Dutil, Camille Latourelle-Vigeant, Sarah Major, Colleen Mosterd-McLean, Kim Pawliw, Anne-Gabrielle Poulin, Ana-Brigitte Poveda, Viviane Rivard, Nicolas Roy, Jade Talbot, Simon Turcotte, Richmond Yu, Pengtao Zhang.

(c) | Hosted by the Department of Geography, National Taiwan Normal University | Site Admin